TIME FOR POTTY? OH YES!!

“When are you going to start Dee on potty”, my Mother asked me
“Oh, Mother, not now
I want Dee to have the proper coordination necessary to communicate his need to pee or poo. It’s too early for that”, I answered.
“But He is 2 years old! What are you waiting for?” My Mother asked perplexed.
All those old school ways won’t work here, I thought to myself. I managed a smile and said, “I will teach him when I know he is ready”.

We had that discussion last year. Today, I wonder what I was thinking.
Why didn’t I start since….
Now it’s a battle, literally. I have the potty ready, gleaming against the floor tiles, yellow and orange colored Giraffe smiling in encouragement, two buttons, one to play music and ah ha, it looks just like a mini toilet, any child would love it.

This should be easy…
Or not.
My Dear Son, Dee, has occasionally poo and pee in this potty and of course, we have had poo and pee accidents around the house, the type that has made me want to flee the other way on seeing the wonderful poo bestowed on the floor or have me nearly pull my weave off in frustration.
This Poo and Pee phase is surely not for the faint hearted.
Good news is I have some tips to share, tried, tested and accepted.

IMG_8973
First tip:
Preparation is key. Mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually, prepare yourself for the ‘pee and poo phase’. Do away with O.C.D (if you are one), breathe, remember this is a phase and it will pass.
Second tip:
Commitment and dedication.
Have everyone at home on board this potty program.. You have to pay attention, always!!
Minutes after Dee drinks water or juice, I watch for telltale signs of the need to pee.
My 1st Son, Dee, would pause as if in deep thought, the moment I see him do that, I know he either wants to pee or poo.
He has some favorite spots, 3 places in the living room and he treats them like his private domain (meaning, do not come near while I am busy). So I keep an eye out for him at those spots.
Third tip:
Encouragement and patience. You would need a truck loads of these. Remember, every child is different, some will get to use the potty in no time and others might take sometime.
It’s not a one size fits all. So, go easy. Anytime, Dee successfully uses the potty, I do a dance in front of him, I clap gleefully for him and I sit on a small stool close to him while he use the potty occasionally to encourage him.
Fourth tip:
Consistency
Continually encourage the use of potty at a young age, that way the child would come to understand the use of it, the body becomes conditioned as well.
Initially wear diaper to bed at night and gradually stop diaper to bed at night.
To get to this, you would have to take the child to the potty, possibly two or three times at night. Before bedtime, reduce the amount of water taken.
Fifth tip:
Make it a fun thing to do. Have a song for it, if you can.
Eventually he or she will get the hang of it.
All the best.
Loads of love,

Nnia.

4 thoughts on “TIME FOR POTTY? OH YES!!

  1. I am so happy to ho through your piece on potty training . I pray that young mothers like you will take this to heart & start early so that the issue of frustration will not be experienced . Thanks & good luck .

    Like

  2. Potty training is the most difficult task to complete as a mother. The earlier the better though. Nice write up my one and only spikky mama.

    Like

Leave a comment